01Jan 2017

VEGETARIAN CAPSULES: A LOGICO-ETHICAL SUBSTITUTE.

  • Institute Of Chemical Technology, Mumbai-400019.
Crossref Cited-by Linking logo

Abstract


Capsules have been the most preferred and effective mode of oral dosage. Conventionally, capsules were made from gelatin which had its source from domesticated cattle, chicken, pigs, horses and fish. Gelatin based capsules have several disadvantages ranging from allergy, hygroscopicity and limited usage for liquid and gel-based drugs. Vegetarian Capsules provide a wide range of opportunities to overcome the shortcomings of Gelatin based capsules. Also, Vegetarian capsules in addition to being both the obvious choice for both vegetarian and vegan consumers are also more acceptable for religious reasons. Vegetarian capsules are often deemed suitable to be classified as both Kosher and Halal products, and also for other religions following either vegetarianism or restrictions on particular animal consumption. This review paper studies the various plant-based raw materials that are used for manufacturing Vegetarian Capsules. Also, various blends used for improved properties in these capsules are investigated. The properties, advantages and disadvantages of the Vegetarian Capsules, along with the applications of these capsules in various medicinal dosages are discussed.


Cite This Article as:


[Sainath Ashok Jadhav and Abhinay Sunil Bhagat. (2016); VEGETARIAN CAPSULES: A LOGICO-ETHICAL SUBSTITUTE. Int. J. of Adv. Res. 4 (6). 713-718] (ISSN 2320-5407). www.journalijar.com


DOI:


Article DOI: 10.21474/IJAR01/812       DOI URL: http://dx.doi.org/10.21474/IJAR01/812


Share this article